TU Connect

Video conferences with Adobe Connect Pro

The “Video conference for teaching and research” service makes it possible for all TU Wien employees to hold web conferences. The Teaching Support Center makes the web-based software Adobe Connect Pro available for this purpose. Adobe Connect Pro is one of the most popular software solutions for live meetings. It is not platform-specific – to participate in the video conferences, users merely need a web browser and to have installed Adobe Flash Player.

Our services

Video conferences with Adobe Connect Pro, organised by the Teaching Support Center, are currently free of charge for all TU Wien employees.

Meeting rooms: On request, we will arrange a meeting room for the employees and assign moderator rights to the organiser. As many as 100 users can participate in each video conference meeting.

For more information about the procedure, see

NEW: TU Connect information folder, opens an external URL in a new window (2020 summer semester)

NEW: Info folder for TU Connect in English, opens an external URL in a new window (2020 summer semester)

Boundary microphone: If several users are seated at a computer and using the same microphone to communicate, we recommend working with a boundary microphone. The Teaching Support Center will happily provide one if required. Please send inquiries to: support@tuwel.tuwien.ac.at

Advice/training: The Teaching Support Center offers advice on suitable application scenarios in research and teaching.  During a workshop, we reveal tips and tricks on how to conduct a video conference in a professional manner. The range of available workshops can be found in the TU Wien continuing education programme and will also be offered on an individual basis for a group of 5 or more users on request.

See also: Rakoczi, G. & Herbst, I. (2011): 12 practical tips for successful web conferencing in university teaching, opens an external URL in a new window

The features and functions of Adobe Connect Pro

Practical communication tools: To improve cooperation in live meetings, interactive collaboration tools that are intuitive to use, such as chats, whiteboards and surveys, can be added to the video conferences.

Flexible layout design: The TU Connect meeting rooms can be designed individually, as the integrated Pods™ can be moved to any position. This means that each individual collaboration can have its own, specifically adapted environment. These settings can be saved and used again, of course.

Recording meetings: With TU Connect, video conferencing sessions can be conveniently recorded in a Flash Video format (.flv), with synchronised audio components. The integration of video files with TUWEL is easily accomplished, thanks to its integrated FLV Player. This makes integrating guest lectures into TUWEL courses an extremely simple process, for example.

Screen sharing: To share materials and resources, screen content can be authorised for other conference delegates (at window, application and desktop level). It is also possible to access the other computer remotely.

Simple invitation: Users have access to the meeting rooms at any time – no need for reservation or registration. To extend the invitation, simply send the links to the specified meeting rooms to the persons involved in each case.

What is needed

To ensure that conference participation runs smoothly, an internet connection must be provided and the following technical requirements met:

  • PC or laptop with installed web browser
  • Adobe Flash Player (version 8 or higher)
  • Headset (if required)
  • Webcam (if required)

Additional hardware requirements can be found here: Link to Adobe Connect, opens an external URL in a new window

(Note that under Linux (subject to distribution) full functionality cannot be guaranteed).

Screenshots:

TU Connect screenshot

TU Connect screenshot

Poll pod in TU Connect

Poll pod in TU Connect

Share pod in TU Connect

Share pod in TU Connect

TU Connect

Videokonferenzen mit Adobe Connect Pro

Das Service „Videokonferenz für Lehre und Forschung“ bietet allen Mitarbeiter_innen der Technischen Universität Wien die Möglichkeit, Web-Konferenzen zu veranstalten. Das Teaching Support Center stellt hierfür die Web-basierte Software Adobe Connect Pro bereit. Adobe Connect Pro ist eine der am weitesten verbreiteten Softwarelösungen für Live Meetings. Sie ist plattformunabhängig, die TeilnehmerInnen benötigen für die Partizipation an den Videokonferenzen lediglich einen Webbrowser sowie einen installierten Adobe Flash Player.

 

Unser Angebot

Videokonferenzen mit Adobe Connect Pro, die das Teaching Support Center organisiert, sind für die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der TU Wien aktuell kostenfrei.

Meetingräume: Auf Anfrage richten wir den Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern einen Meetingraum ein und vergeben an den Veranstalter Moderatorenrechte. Pro Videokonferenz-Meeting können bis zu 100 Teilnehmer*innen partizipieren.

Weitere Informationen zum Ablauf siehe

NEU: Informationsfolder TU-Connect, öffnet eine Datei in einem neuen Fenster (Sommersemester 2020)

NEU: Info-folder for TU-Connect in English, öffnet eine Datei in einem neuen Fenster (Summer term 2020)

Grenzflächenmikrofon: Wenn mehrere UserInnen an einem Rechner sitzen und über das gleiche Mikrofon kommunizieren, empfehlen wir den Einsatz eines Grenzflächenmikrofons. Das Teaching Support Center stellt bei Bedarf gerne ein Gerät bereit. Anfragen bitte an: support@tuwel.tuwien.ac.at

Beratung/Schulung: Das Teaching Support Center bietet Beratung zu geeigneten Einsatzszenarien in Forschung und Lehre an.  Im Rahmen eines Workshops verraten wir Tipps und Tricks wie eine Videokonferenz professionell durchgeführt werden kann. Das Workshop-Angebot findet sich im Weiterbildungsprogramm der TU Wien und wird auf Anfrage auch individuell für einen Teilnehmer_innenkreis ab 5 Personen angeboten.

Siehe auch: Rakoczi, G. & Herbst, I. (2011): 12 Praxistipps für ein gelungenes Webconferencing in der universitären Lehre, öffnet eine Datei in einem neuen Fenster

 

Features und Funktionen von Adobe Connect Pro

Praktische Kommunikationstools: Um die Zusammenarbeit in Live Meetings zu verbessern, lassen sich Videokonferenzen mit intuitiv zu bedienenden sowie interaktiven Kollaborationstools wie Chats, Whiteboards sowie Umfragen erweitern.

Flexible Layoutgestaltung: Meeting Räume von TU-Connect sind individuell gestaltbar, indem die integrierten Pods™ beliebig verschiebbar sind. So kann für jede beliebige Kollaboration eine eigens angepasste Umgebung festgelegt werden. Diese Einstellungen lassen sich speichern und natürlich wiederverwenden.

Aufzeichnung von Meetings: Videokonferenzsitzungen lassen sich mit TU-Connect bequem im Flash Video Format (.flv) mit synchronisierter Audiokomponente aufzeichnen. Eine Integration der Videodateien mit TUWEL kann dank des in TUWEL integrierten FLV Players einfach bewerkstelligt werden. So lassen sich beispielsweise Gastvorträge denkbar einfach in TUWEL Kurse integrieren.

Bildschirmfreigabe: Um Materialien bzw. Ressourcen zu teilen, können Bildschirminhalte für andere Konferenzteilnehmer_innen (auf Fenster-, Anwendungs- bzw. Desktopebene) freigegeben werden. Ein Remote-Zugriff an den jeweils anderen Rechner wird ebenfalls ermöglicht.

Einfache Einladung: Die Teilnehmer_innen haben jederzeit Zugang zu den Meeting-Räumen – ohne Reservierung oder Registrierung. Die Einladung erfolgt grundsätzlich durch Versenden der Links zu den festgelegten Meetings-Räumen an die jeweils involvierten Personen.

 

Was wird benötigt

Für eine reibungslose Konferenzteilnahme sind neben einer Internetanbindung folgende technische Anforderungen zu erfüllen:

  • PC oder Laptop mit installiertem Webbrowser
  • Adobe Flash Player (ab Version 8)
  • Headset (falls erforderlich)
  • WebCam (falls erforderlich)

Weitere Hardwareanforderungen finden Sie hier: Link zu Adobe Connect, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

(Beachten Sie, dass unter Linux (je nach Distribution) nicht die volle Funktionalität gegeben sein kann).

 

Screenshots:

Screenshot TU Connect

Screenshot TU Connect

Abstimmungs-Pod in TU Connect

Abstimmungs-Pod in TU Connect

Freigabe-Pod in TU Connect

Freigabe-Pod in TU Connect